Norfolk Birding News

Birding news for July 2011

Sunday 31 July 2011

Snettisham - probable White-rumped Sandpiper, 4 Curlew Sandpipers, Little Stint & juv Spoonbill. Norwich - Osprey over. Cromer - Red Kite over. Swanton Novers - Honey Buzzard. Cley - Montagu's Harrier over & black Tern. Holme - 4 Spoonbills. Titchwell - Spoonbill over. Breydon - Curlew Sandpiper.

Saturday 30 July 2011

Hickling Broad - SAVI'S WARBLER singing & 4 Cranes. Titchwell - 2 Spoonbills. Cantley - 2 Wood Sandpipers & 45 Green Sandpipers. Cley - 12 Spoonbills, Curlew Sandpiper, 5 Spotshanks, Yellow-legged Gull & Arctic Skua on the reserve.

Friday 29 July 2011

Snettisham - Pectoral Sandpiper from 7pm. Cley - 12 Spoonbills, Wood Sandpiper and at dusk in the gull roost apparent 1st summer Baltic Gull, ad Caspian Gull and 10 Yellow-legged Gulls. Titchwell - Spoonbill, 2 Little Stints & 9 Arctic Skuas offshore.

Thursday 28 July 2011

Hickling Broad - SAVI'S WARBLER singing. Titchwell - Spoonbill flew over. Cantley - 4 Wood Sandpipers. Cley - 9 Spoonbills, Curlew Sandpiper, 5 Spotshanks, 50+ Whimbrel & 2 Yellow-legged Gulls. Holme - 3 Spoonbills.

Wednesday 27 July 2011

Hopton - CORY'S SHEARWATER flew south past + 5 Arctic Terns. Cley - 13 Spoonbills, Curlew Sanpiper, 5 Spotshanks & 15 Arctic Terns. Titchwell - 2 Spoonbills over, Curlew Sandpiper & 4 Spotshanks. Holme - 35 Crossbills flew over.

Tuesday 26 July 2011

Cley - Pomarine & 15 Arctic Skuas and Manx Shearwater past. Titchwell - 3 Curlew Sandpipers & 5 Spotted Redshanks. Cantley - 3 Wood Sandpipers. Norwich - Wood Sandpiper flew over riverside.

Monday 25 July 2011

Hickling Broad - SAVI'S WARBLER singing. Cley - 13 Spoonbills, Curlew Sandpiper, 5 Spotshanks & 5 Arctic Terns, also Black Guillemot flew past + 3 Manx Shearwaters and 7 Arctic Skuas. Ranworth broad - Osprey.

Sunday 24 July 2011

Hickling Broad - SAVI'S WARBLER singing. Sheringham - CORY'S SHEARWATER, Storm Petrel, Manx Shearwater & 2 Velvet Scoters. Cley - Bonxie, 5 Arctic Skuas & 3 Manx Shearwaters. Swanton Novers - 2 Honey Buzzards. Titchwell - 5 Spoonbills. Choseley - Quail singing.

Saturday 23 July 2011

Sheringham - 173 Manx Shearwaters, 20 Arctic Skuas & 8 Arctic Terns. Cley - 25 Manx Shearwaters, 10 Arctic Skuas & 2 Bonxies past, also 13 Spoonbills, Curlew Sandpiper, Little Stint, 6+ Arctic Terns & 2 Yellow-legged Gulls on the reserve. Titchwell - 25 manx Shearwaters & 2 Arctic Skuas past.

Friday 22 July 2011

Hickling Broad - SAVI'S WARBLER singing. Sheringham - reported CORY'S SHEARWATER past in am then Balearic & 30 Manx Shearwaters in pm. Emneth - WHITE STORK over. Cley - ROSEATE TERN, 13 Spoonbills, Curlew Sanpiper & Yellow-legged Gull. Cockshoot broad - Osprey. Hopton - 3 Arctic Terns past. Titchwell - Curlew Sandpiper, 12 Spotted Redshanks & Garganey.

Thursday 21 July 2011

Hickling Broad - SAVI'S WARBLER singing for 3rd day. Cley - 10 Spoonbills, Little Stint, Curlew Sanpiper, Wood Sandpiper, Yellow-legged Gull & 5 Arctic Skuas. Titchwell - 5 Spoonbills over, Curlew Sandpiper & Garganey.

Wednesday 20 July 2011

Cley - 16 Spoonbills, Little Stint, 2 Wood Sandpipers, 12 Green Sands, 2 Arctic Terns. Sheringham - Balearic Shearwater. Breydon - Honey Buzzard over. Titchwell - 6 Spoonbills (am), Curlew Sandpiper & RC Pochard.

Tuesday 19 July 2011

Cley - 15 Spoonbills, Little Stint, Little Gull & 5 Arctic Skuas offshore. Buxton - 10 Crossbills. Cantley - 43 Green Sandpipers.

Monday 18 July 2011

Titchwell - Curlew Sandpiper. Kelling - 2 Arctic Skuas past.

Sunday 17 July 2011

Cley - 16 Spoonbills & Curlew Sandpiper. Titchwell - Curlew Sandpiper. Thornham - Quail singing.

Saturday 16 July 2011

Cley - 12 Spoonbills & 2 Curlew Sandpipers. Titchwell - 3 Spoonbills, Curlew Sandpiper, Garganey, Little Gull, 4 Spotted Redshanks & Black Redstart.

Friday 15 July 2011

Alderfen Broad - Osprey. Cley - 10 Spoonbills & 2 Little Gulls. Holkham - 8 Crossbills. Titchwell - Spoonbill. Hoveton Hall - 25 Crossbills. Hopton - Arctic Tern past.

Thursday 14 July 2011

Cley - 16 Spoonbills, Curlew Sandpiper, Yellow-legged Gull & 2 Little Gulls, also Arctic & Great Skua & 4 Arctic Terns past the coastguards. Holme - 8 Arctic Skuas past.

Wednesday 13 July 2011

Cley - 17 Spoonbills, Curlew Sandpiper, 2 Yellow-legged Gull & 6 Little Gulls. Titchwell - Curlew Sandpiper & 2 RC Pochards. Ranworth Broad - Osprey. Hopton - Arctic Tern past.

Tuesday 12 July 2011

Cley - 8 Spoonbills, Yellow-legged Gull & 6 Little Gulls. Wells - Spoonbill.

Monday 11 July 2011

Cley - 12 Spoonbills, Yellow-legged Gull, Curlew Sandpiper, Wood Sandpiper & 7 Little Gulls. Holme - 4 Spoonbills. Welney - Spoonbill. Titchwell - 2 Quail singing early morning nearby.

Sunday 10 July 2011

Cley - Quail singing, 10 Spoonbills & 3 Wood Sandpipers. Titchwell - Osprey over, Spoonbill & 12+ Spotted Redshanks. Ranworth Broad - Osprey. Burgh Castle - Yellow-legged Gull.

Saturday 9 July 2011

Snettisham - 2 Roseate Terns. Stiffkey - Osprey over & then over Blakeney harbour.

Friday 8 July 2011

Cley - 10 Spoonbills, Wood Sandpiper, 3 Little Gulls & 5 Spotshanks. Hopton - 2 Arctic Terns past.

Thursday 7 July 2011

Cley - 6 Spoonbills, Y-L Gull & 4 Crossbills over. Titchwell - Spoonbill

Wednesday 6 July 2011

Holme - 4 Spoonbills.

Tuesday 5 July 2011

Titchwell - probable Icterine Warbler & 8 Spotted Redshanks. Cantley - 30 Green Sandpipers. Norwich - Crossbill over. Cley - 7 Spoonbills, 13 Little Gulls & Curlew Sandpiper.

Monday 4 July 2011

Cley - 11 Spoonbills, Y-L Gull, 8 Little Gulls & Curlew Sandpiper. Titchwell - 2 Spoonbills & 15 Spotted Redshanks.

Sunday 3 July 2011

Ashill - Quail singing.

Saturday 2 July 2011

Cley - 7 Spoonbills. Buckenham - Wood Sandpiper.

Friday 1 July 2011

Cley - 6 Spoonbills, 2 Curlew Sandpipers. Titchwell - Spoonbill, 5 Spotted Redshanks, 4 Little Gulls. Holme - Crossbill. Between Fakenham & Wells - 2 Red Kites.